UPSC PRELIMS 2020: Maradu Case

Topic: Maradu Case

Topic in Syllabus: Ecology and Environment


SC order demolition of Maradu blocks violating CRZ regulations

Coastal Regulation Zone(CRZ):

The coastal land up to 500m from the High Tide Line (HTL) and a stage of 100m along banks of creeks, estuaries, backwater and rivers subject to tidal fluctuations, is called the Coastal Regulation Zone(CRZ).

CRZ Notification 2018 is based on the recommendations of Shailesh Nayak committee and have been issued under Section 3 of the Environment Protection Act, 1986.


CRZ along the country has been placed in four categories, which are as follows

  1. CRZ I – Ecologically Sensitive Areas.

They lie between low and high tide line.

Exploration of natural gas and extraction of salt are permitted no construction is allowed except activities for atomic power plants, defense.

  1. CRZ II – Shore Line Areas

The areas that have been developed up to or close to the shoreline.

Unauthorized structures are not allowed to construct in this zone.

  1. CRZ III – Undisturbed Area

Rural (CRZ IIIA and CRZ IIIB) and Urban localities which fall outside I and II.

Only certain activities related to agriculture even some public facilities are allowed in this zone.

  1. CRZ IV – Territorial Area

An area covered between Low Tide Line and 12 Nautical Miles seaward.

Fishing and allied activities are permitted in this zone.

Solid waste should be let off in this zone.


Sample Question:

Coastal Zones in India are the direct responsibility of

a)      Ministry of Environment and Forests

b)      National Coastal Zone Management Authority

c)       State Governments concerned.

d)      None

Answer: a